About Us


To drive participation, education and innovation in the South Australian Show Movement and local rural communities for young people involved and with and interest in South Australian rural enterprises, activities and lifestyles.

To increase general public awareness of agriculture and provide professional networking for young people involved in agriculture, rural communities and agricultural shows.


The SA Next Gen Executive Committee is comprised 100% of volunteers.


Jeremy Schutz


Jeremy is a farmer from Pinnaroo in the Mallee.  He runs the family farm where they run self replacing merino and first cross Border Leicester lambs. He also runs his own engineering business. Jeremy was named SA Young Rural Ambassador in 2009, winning the state title in 2015 and becoming Rural Ambassador for Australasia in 2016. He is involved in his local show Pinnaroo where he has recently handed over the role of president after 5 years.


Henry Scott

Vice president


Kayla Starkey


Kayla is a university student, part-time pharmacy assistant and part-time farm hand hailing from Mount Pleasant in the Southern Barossa Valley. She is currently studying a Bachelor of Agricultural Science with the University of Adelaide and hopes to go on to complete a Masters of Teaching to become a Agricultural Science/Science Teacher at secondary level. She has been involved with agriculture and country shows all of her life, being involved with the family sheep property, running Polwarth and Merinos. She has been heavily with her local show, Mount Pleasant, where she had held a position on the executive committee for the last 4 years.


Caitlin Marshall



Courtney Ramsey

IMmediate Past President

Courtney hails from a sheep and cereal property at Buckleboo on the Eyre Peninsula. Having previously worked in herbicide tolerance research at SARDI and farming on the family and neighbouring property, she now works in state politics. Courtney has a keen interest in agri-policy and writes a regular opinion column for the Stock Journal. Courtney was named the Rural Ambassador for Australasia in 2014.


Sarah Hazel

2017 SA Rural Ambassador


Lachy Johnson

2017 SA Young Rural Ambassador


General Executive MEMBERS

  • Bevan Schutz - (Chair) Young Farmer Challenge Subcomittee
  • Emmeline Vivian - (Chair) Boots & Black Tie Ball Subcommittee
  • Amy Wright
  • Stephanie Pocock
  • Jane Haren
  • William Denholm
  • Edward Scott
  • Simon Helbig




Under construction


Under construction